Homesick

If home is where the heart is
Then I haven’t been home in a long while.
Raised in a house built on love
Looking back all I can do is smile.
We never had much but it always
Felt like more than enough.
A strong and sturdy foundation
Couldn’t anything come between us.
You encouraged us to be ourselves
And that is was ok to be different.
Work hard at everything you do
And always be consistent.
As I sit here in the dungeon
In a place that I can call my own.
The love I grew up with doesn’t exist here.
So this place will never be my home.

Leave a Reply

